top of page

WELCOME TO MAMA TELLS ALL

Hello all, 

My name is Lauren and I'm 21.  I'm a first time mum to my little boy Archie.  I started this blog to share my experiences of motherhood. To sum me up in a whole, I love working, I'm a strong believer that we should still be our own person when we become a mother. As we are more than just a mum! I am not just a mum, I'm Lauren the Museum Assistant who loves being crafty, loves chocolate and taking photographs!

 

 I went back to work when my little boy was 8 weeks old so I will soon be sharing my experience of going back to work, I am currently on a weightloss journey and have lost four stone so I'll be sharing a few tips! Me and my partner Alex have been in our first house for about 2 and half years but are still renovating so a blog post may appear about that! I'm obsessed with buying for my little boy so I'll be sharing reviews on some of my favourite buys and the must haves!

Thanks for taking the time to read this

Lauren xx

Scroll down to see the latest blog posts.

See the menu in the top right corner for discount codes and to join in on debates and discussions!

Subscribe

Christening mayhem

Having never planned an event before I never realised what I was getting myself into planning a christening.

The first thing I had planned was the date, 16th September 2018. We had decided to have our little boy christened at the Priory Church. There were many local churches to choose from but working in a local history museum I knew the history to that building, had explored parts closed to the public and it’s such a beautiful building I just couldn’t not choose it.


Next to plan was the venue, I chose a local pub, The Queens Hotel, down the old town. It was a short walk from the church and the best thing was we could take our own food.

I was thankful to both our families who helped with the food, one family member even went to the extent of making a fully functional sweet cart and my mum painted a peter rabbit photobooth. As you have probably guessed by now the theme was peter rabbit.


As for outfits, I decided to go for a nice floaty dress that had baby blue tones. I bought my dress from French Connection, as soon as I saw it I knew it was the one and it was a relief after going through several shops with no luck.

As for Archie, his Christening gown was already sorted. It was his father’s christening gown. I thought it would be a lovely idea to put him in Alex’s so it could be our little family tradition. His after party outfit was from Carousel Baby Boutique, it was a pretty original smock romper.


It was the calm before the storm, as the previous days to the christening I was only doing odd jobs because majority of things had to be done on the day.


On the morning of the christening I was up relatively early, I arrived at Queens for 8.30am to start setting up with family members who were giving a hand. I was running round like a headless chicken to make sure the details were perfect and that I was ready to leave for my makeup appointment which was at 10am. In all the rushing I had received a text from Archie‘s Godmother saying she wouldn’t be able to come because her little boy was poorly and his second Godmother was working away in Ireland. I felt overwhelmed and almost to the point of tears that things were starting to fall apart and how ridiculous it would look at the church having no godmothers but two godfathers. I was clutching at straws as it was too late for a name change. Bringing a laugh at a bleak time, a family member pointed out my top was inside out. Looking back I must have looked a mess, no makeup, frizzy wavy hair and clothes inside out.


Realising the time, I had to focus on getting to my makeup appointment and what a surprise, the road to Flamborough was closed. Forcing us to go the longer way, which didn’t exactly help being short on time. They say things come in threes and it made me wonder what the third bad thing to happen would be.


I had decided to treat myself to having my makeup professionally done, my makeup was done by Make Up and More by Lauren. The makeup artist Lauren was so lovely and friendly and managed to take my mind off the stress of the morning. I was very happy with the end result which was a nice dewy pink toned makeup look. Which lasted me the whole day without budging, which was so surprising as the makeup was that light I felt I was wearing nothing but yet had good coverage.


I waited for alex to pick me up and take me to my hair appointment. Fortunately Archie’s godmother was able to make it just for the ceremony.

Alex picked me up and by this point I was running so late and I only had 45 minutes before the ceremony started. I wasn’t dressed and my hair wasn’t done. Sadly I didn’t have time to have my hair curled but Verity managed a lovely quick up pin hairstyle, I was running that late I had to get dressed in the hairdressers toilet.


I was dressed and ready and so was the family. We just made it in time, and still had a few minutes to greet people and find our seats.

The ceremony was lovely, considering there was a few christenings on the same day it was a quick service. After the service Archie was given a candle, a children’s bible story book and a certificate. Fortunately we looked at the book containing the certificate as we had the wrong one and would have walked away with another child’s. We quickly swapped to the correct ones. I was relieved, that was the third bad thing and now I should have a night of smooth sailing.


It was a lovely night, spend with family and friends. Archie’s godfather Oliver bought him a baby Leeds kit so he spend part of the night showing off his lovely gift. We are thankful for everyone who made the day and for all the lovely gifts.









1,022 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Us time

Untitled
bottom of page